A TOTAL of 30 candidates will compete for the votes of Ayrshire’s residents at the general election next month.

With less than four weeks to go until polling day on July 4, the names of all the candidates standing in the county’s four constituencies have been confirmed.

There are eight candidates in North Ayrshire and Arran, and another eight in Central Ayrshire, while there are seven candidates standing in Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock and in Kilmarnock and Loudoun.

The Conservatives, Labour, Liberal Democrats, SNP, Reform UK and Scottish Greens are all fielding candidates in all four seats (and in all 57 seats across Scotland), while there are also two candidates in Ayrshire from the Socialist Labour Party, two from the Social Democratic Party, one from the Alba Party, and one independent.

Nominations closed at 4pm on Friday, June 7.

The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Tuesday, June 18, while the deadline to apply for a postal vote, for a postal proxy vote, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm on Wednesday, June 19.

Twenty-nine candidates are standing across Ayrshire's four seats at the General Election.Twenty-nine candidates are standing across Ayrshire's four seats at the General Election. (Image: PA)

The deadline for new applications to vote by proxy is 5pm on Wednesday, June 26.

This is the first time in Scotland that voters will need to show photo ID at the polling station before being allowed to vote.

Accepted forms of ID include a passport; photocard driving licence; older persons or disabled persons bus pass; and Young Scot card. The ID doesn’t need to be valid on the day of the election, the photo simply needs to be an accurate likeness of you.

More information on registering to vote and on how to vote in person, by post and by proxy, as well as on voter ID, can be found online at gov.uk/vote-uk-election.

The full list of candidates standing across Ayrshire’s four constituencies, in alphabetical order, is as follows.

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock

Dorans, Allan (Scottish National Party)

Dowey, Martin (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

Kennedy, Paul (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Russell, Andrew (Reform UK)

Stewart, Elaine (Scottish Labour Party)

Vallance, Korin Matthew (Scottish Greens)

Wilson, Corri (Alba Party: Yes to Scottish Independence)

Central Ayrshire

Blades, Kevin (Reform UK)

Ford, Elaine (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Gemmell, Alan (Scottish Labour Party)

Kerr, Tom (Scottish Greens)

Macmillan, Allan (Social Democratic Party)

McDaid, Louise (Socialist Labour Party)

McIndoe, Annie (Scottish National Party)

Rocks, David (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Brown, Alan (Scottish National Party)

Cowie, Jordan (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

Glen, Bex (Scottish Greens)

Jones, Lilian (Scottish Labour Party)

McNamara, Stephen (Independent)

Thomson, William (Reform UK)

Thornley, Edward (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

North Ayrshire and Arran

Campbell, Irene (Scottish Labour)

Cole-Hamilton, Gillian (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Ferguson, Todd (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

Gibson, Ian (Social Democratic Party)

Gibson, Patricia (Scottish National Party)

Mann, Mike (Reform UK)

McDaid, James (Socialist Labour Party)

McKee, Cara (Scottish Greens)