President’s Day at Largs Bowling Club was held in bright sunshine which complemented President Davy Macdonald’s request that members wear bright colours. Bill Weir won the bomb burst and the winning rink on a count back was Harry Reid, Pat McDonald, Jean Dewar and Skip Dougie Chantry.

The members then enjoyed an afternoon tea kindly prepared by the President’s wife Anne and other family members. (Photo shows the winning rink receiving the trophy from Lady President Mary Soltysek.)
The Club also recently held the Jean Haddow Trophy annual competition between the Gentlemen and Ladies, kindly sponsored by Honorary President Murray Haddow who donated the prizes and the provision of a strawberry tea.

On this occasion the Gentlemen won the trophy and Brian Cant, who skipped the winning rink of Ivor Laughlan, Bill Puckrin and Norman Hollywood, received the trophy from President Davy Macdonald. There was some compensation for the Ladies as Match Secretary Lesley Lawrie won the bomb blast. (Photo shows the winning team.)